I’m Getting My 80s On

Copyright Andrew Golden

Copyright Andrew Golden

I thought I’d splash up a quick teaser of more work for my E4 ident, in preparation for the Estings competition. Due to placements and other work I’ve set a personal deadline of the end of next week to finish all the animation and all the editing and to submit the piece. It’ll be a bit of a mad rush, as there’s still a lot of work to do, but as you can see my two Miami Vice rejects are ready and raring to go. What do you think, are they 80s enough?

For the video I’ve taken a big inspiration from the below video by animation student Shawn Kim. The main attraction is achieving that beautiful radiant glow effect to really accentuate that 80s vibe to the whole ident.

https://vimeo.com/65810557

Another element I found key to accentuating the 80s vibe (other than the classy white blazer) was the colour scheme. Miami Vice pastels mixed with vibrant pinks and cyans should get the right vibe. I’ll keep y’all in the loop.

Listening to: Do It Again by Camera Obscura

Leave a Reply

