Paul Brand – Newspaper Work

So it’s back to more editorial design work. I knew I’d enjoy this module, but surprisingly it’s the newspaper module I’m enjoying the most, seemingly trying to cram a ridiculous amount of information onto a page is nicer than having the luxury of white space. Though I am getting to focus it on 50s design, so that might be a hint as to why I’m enjoying it so much.

Today I just polished off my second of three pages for the publication, and who knows, by the end of the weekend the 3rd might be at least half done. With any luck. But the second page was a duotone biography page on a designer or art movement of our own choice. In terms of topics I’d have loved to have gone for something like UPA or the golden age of animation, but instead opted for something more graphic design oriented, in the hopes it might hit a design-nerd nerve with the tutors. I’m covering, as you can see above, Paul Rand, the human incarnation of Mr Magoo.

Though in all seriousness he’s one of the greats, so it makes sense to cover him, as there’s so much documentation on the fella. I particularly like how the page covering him has turned out, the limitation of duotone actually created a sense of visual balance that tied the whole page together very nicely, supplementary imagery no longer stood out too much. I also experimented a little with some odd typography combinations, as you can see in the featured image of this post.

But having completed this page it makes my front-end page seem lacking in some way. You can see it above, it looks fine, but nothing more than that really. It’s maybe too much large text, and two preview bars is too much, I may just ditch the one on the left hand side of the page, with Gerald McBoing Boing and Vertigo on it. First I’d love to do a little illustration of Ken Garland, rather than relying on just the photo I’ve found, to give the newspaper that furthered air of design aristocracy and bespoke design. Something more personal and clearly aimed at the artistic community.

But whether I’ll implement this illustration and the other I have planned is an uncertainty just now. If I get a couple of free evenings over the next week it may be worth fulfilling. But it’s important to note I only really have another month or so until my deadline. So time management is key, I’ll have to prioritise and complete the actual layouts first, as they’re what get the basic grade. The illustrations would just be icing on the cake. Snazzy illustrated icing.

But that’s not to be presented until Monday, then Tuesday it’s presenting website ideas, though that should take maybe a night to drum up. That’s my Sunday and Monday sorted. But until then.

Listening to:

Strung Like Lights At Thee Printemps Erable by Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Leave a Reply

