Motion Graphics Prop Problems

Well, tomorrow it’s back to the Motion Graphics. In all honesty I haven’t touched the module since last week. In Abertay you could afford to drop a module for a single week to catch up on other projects, but it’s just not a good idea this year I don’t think. We’re meant to have a tutorial in After Effects tomorrow, and I haven’t any footage to play around with. This is partly due to a struggle to find props. I’m wanting a science fiction character or figure filmed for part of the sting and the initial idea was an astronaut, but unfortunately for any half-convincing helmet or suit it sets you back a minimum of £300 for a week-long rental. Slightly outside a student budget, which I may have rudely proclaimed to the fella giving the quote.

I’m instead aiming to use either a Tron-style costume, which is proving far less to invest in, or a classical box-robot, a la Flight Of The Conchords. That would require a fair bit of DIY though, which I’m not confident in my abilities of, and I do want this sting to be of a good quality overall. I’m also yet to get a zombie, but I’ve had a volunteer, and I’ll also need a super-hero figure, which is going to involve a little bit of green screen.

But the rest of this piece should be animated in some way. It’s mildly disappointing considering I was really excited to get into the green screen area, but oh well, there’ll be other video projects to experiment with. In the meantime I’m looking into sprite-creation and 8-bit illustration techniques to try and create my little mascot for Geek Fiction. I’ve not started yet but dependent on how many poses I need to work on it could take a fair while, as you can see from the spritesheet above, taken from the SNES classic The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past. (sort of a childhood favourite, so it’s nice to be able to spam it on here.

So any tips in 8-bit creation would be very much appreciated. Mixing so many different formats, styles and medias is going to be difficult to make coherent, but I managed last year with the Team project, so might just have to apply the same rules here. A colour palette might be a good starting point. Also it’s tricky to decide on how many frames to make the walk animation to make it just the right amount of jerkyness to be fluid enough to not be annoying yet retain that retro roughness.

Listening to: 110% by Jessie Ware

Leave a Reply

