New music video! If I ain’t told you


Mild Eyes, the wonderful project behind the music of Closure by the former bassist of Oceansize, recently released a new EP. I don’t have it yet, but I’ve heard it and it’s freaking great. When we were talking over using his music for the film we also got talking about a potential music video. I was initially going to do it for a song off of his debut album “Pleasureton”, but due to time constraints I didn’t get it done in time.

Instead we agreed to get a music video done for the next release, and in some ways I’m happier to take from this EP as it’s got a set of themes I can totally relate to, and that I found way easier to express visually. The footage collection on the left was all taken when I was on holiday in Florida, last year, which I kinda feel is a period in my life that I’ll have very fond nostalgia for, maybe for the rest of my life. The collection on the right is mostly from back here in Dundee, and I tried to counter and contrast the footage collections, to hopefully imply the effect someone’s environment has on them and their disposition.

At least I think that’s what it is, that or I could just be waffling a load of nonsense.

Either way I’d highly recommend going to pick up Mild Eyes’s new EP, I’m going to get my physical copy ordered by this week as it’s a limited release, burnt onto cassette tapes, which is frankly AWESOME. Steven Hodson, the fella behind Mild Eyes, has a fantastic way of presenting his releases which give them a real warmth and intimacy. Hopefully I sort of reflected that in the music video too. I tried to get an old 8mm film effect, but I’m not sure how convincing it really is, more degrading of footage might have helped, and more scratches and such on the film.

But I’m still really quite pleased with it, and the Florida footage has been floating around for almost a year now, so it’s nice to apply it to a worthwhile project after all this time. Might be a nice wee piece to add to the portfolio, but I’ll wait and see.

Listening to: Toe After Toe by Mild Eyes

Leave a Reply

