Back to blogging again!

I’ve been doing a pretty crappy job of keeping this ol’ thing updated to be honest, so I thought I’d make a quick wee post about progress in the last few days that’s been made on my Communication and Interaction project, the 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea interactive book.

Here’s an illustration hot off the press, finished in the last half hour or so. It depicts a scene within the book where the main characters, Captain Nemo and Professor Aronnax, take a walk to Atlantis. As you do.

I thought it’d be a scene which could be quite visually rich and powerful, and in the book it was the scene which also struck me as the most memorable. For the mock-up I’ll only be illustrating 2 other scenes from the book, the first walk under the sea and the iconic scene where the Nautilus is attacked by a giant squid. Both are finished, so I just need to work a little bit more now on menus and GUI.
Something I’m slightly stumped on is font, finding that that is both highly stylised to suit the visual style and also clearly legible in large bodies of text if need be. But I’ll spend the next hour or so working on that.

I’ll be taking the next couple of days off, as it’s been a bit hectic with working overtime shifts and uni work all at once, so now I have all the communication and interaction pieces I was intending on doing I think I can afford a wee break. Then onto some extra personal project work and I’ll be good for deadline-time!

Listening to: Oh! Darling by The Beatles

Leave a Reply

