Get yer blog oot

Hey to any folk who read my blog, most likely just bored folk in search of pretty things to gander at. Anyone who saw my blog last year may realise it’s a little shinier than last year. I would’ve put time into it, but frankly I have less of that recently than ever before, so this simple little layout should suffice for the next few months at least.
Anyways, I won’t take up too much of your time, doubtless you want to return to atching videos of cats trying to jive on youtube, I’ll let you get back to that in a minute.
I just want to start off with the subject that WAS going to be taken by one Barbel Kopp, but (thankfully) isn’t. It’s a long story, but I digress. The module is called Communication & Interaction and the aim of it is to take a novel or book of any kind and make it interactive. Interactive novels are a pretty new thing, which have mostly gained prominence through the iPad. Here’s a trailer of an adaptation of H.G. Well’s War of the Worlds.

The issue I have with basically every interactive ebook that I’ve found is that it just feels like a compromised novel wrapped up in a series of frilly mini-games. Much like 3D cinema it tends to spoil the immersion, by making us impressed by the technology, in a way unintentionally breaking the 4th wall. It feels like it gets in the way, particularly when people start to search for these easter eggs on every page, instead of paying attention to the story. The interactive element should aid the literature, and be tied in with it in some way.
Here’s a shortlist of novels I’ve been taking into consideration for my project:

Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Listening to: Hey Zeus! by Remember Remember

Leave a Reply

